Echinacea stole my heart


You must have a favorite flower. Everybody does. Some love tulips or sunflowers, others melt with the scent of roses. For me they are too average. It’s Echinacea or Cone Flower that stole my heart. They just do it for me. I think they are embedded in our genes since every child draws a coneflower if they are asked to draw a flower. They are the flowers amongst flowers. Their fair shaped paddles, their bright colors, their yellow to brown cones. They resemble the architype of a flower.

Echinacea have a long history of being cultivated. Indians, monks, farmers; they all used the flower for its medical powers. We only for their great appearance.

These days they’re able to create new breeds in laboratories. They make fantastic colors. Here’s a short interview with a nursery that’s specialized in this.

I’ve collected some great varieties and will continue to do so… Which ones do you have?

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Comments

Filed under All, Gardening

3 responses to “Echinacea stole my heart

  1. Wow! I love the variety! Your photo’s are great!!!!! My plain old pink cone flowers took a few years to grow into 5 foot beings outside my door? They began as seeds last year when a silly rabbit ate them to little seedlings.. Yet the roots established for even sturdier plants. Next year my goal iis to grow another type or two….. 🙂

  2. There are really a lot of varieties. It could be nice to pick one cwith a color close to the plain pink one but with different leaves or height.

  3. I just wanted to say thank you for the ping back. I love your photos of the different colour varieties of echinacea. What a versatile plant.

Leave a Reply

